The Importance of the Seven Sacraments

Sacraments are Christ established and are signs which cause what exactly they stand for. Sacraments heal those who use them from sin then plants, restore or rather nourishes grace in their life. These sacraments are seven in number and include baptism, confession, confirmation, holy orders, Eucharist, matrimony and anointing of the sick. Each of the sacraments is as important since they make Paschal power which was Jesus’ mystery present in the believers for the salvation sake. These are channels of grace which God through them makes the receivers His children as well as increase grace in them.


The sacraments cut across all stages which are of importance in the life of a Christian. The sacraments give birth then increase and also are a source of mission and healing to the Christian’s journey of faith. The stages of growing spiritually and natural growth stages tend to match in a way.


Below is a description of each sacrament and its importance:


  1. Baptism


This is the first sacrament through which one becomes a Christian. The sacrament frees one from the sin originally born with, makes users God’s children, makes the body of the receiver the temple of holy spirit then lastly introduces the user as Church member. Some members get baptized when they are older and are required to wear a white clothing. (Read our article on how to remove black spots from white clothes)


The importance: sins are forgiven, a new life full of grace is obtained and one becomes part of the church.


  1. Confirmation


This is a continuation of the baptism and it completes initiation to Christianity began during baptism. It makes one adult spiritually through permanent seal over the receiver’s soul. The holy spirit during this sacrament pours down the seven gifts which enable one act and see well spiritually. The gifts give one confidence of claiming God’s gospel publicly.


The importance: holy spirit sealing which gives the way for mature life in Christianity.


  1. Eucharist


This is a food, a presence and a sacrifice. As food, the Eucharist nourishes souls, as presented the sacrament simplifies Christ Himself under wine and bread appearance and sacrifice show the sacrifice Christ did for our sake on Calvary.


The importance: the real spiritual food in full presence of the sacrificed lamb, Jesus Christ on Calvary.


  1. Confession


Also called reconciliation or penance. Through this sacrament, one repents then confesses their sins and the priest ministry absolves the sins.


The importance: sins are forgiven and the person is restored to grace.


  1. Anointing of sick


This is the sacrament through which the sick persons via anointing using oil followed by prayer done by a priest receive salvation grace of souls and healing of the body.


The importance: forgiveness of the sick sins, spiritual healing and strength.


  1. Holy orders


This is a sacrament whereby a man who is baptized receives ability and authority to share Christ’s mission which was entrusted to His apostles. The sacrament has three orders which are: diaconate, presbyterate and episcopate.


The importance: a minister is ordained so as to act in the person of Christ.


  1. Marriage


This is a sacrament whereby a woman and man who are baptized are together bound by vows committing to lifelong to each other and to bring up children. The sacrament gives the parties the grace of God so as to fulfill duties in the vows.


The importance: spouses are united just like Christ did unite the Church.